In Sights: The Story of a Welsh GuardsmanIn Sights: The Story of a Welsh Guardsman by Tim Rees
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What can I say? I am in awe of the incredibly brave soldiers who serve our country and am filled with boundless gratitude to them.
Rees is an entertaining writer, balancing the humour and hardship of army life perfectly with amusing anecdotes and well-judged pace.
One thing is for sure is that he is deeply grateful to the army for turning his life around – he has certainly made the most of the opportunities afforded him!
The atmosphere of army life and the deep connections forged with fellow soldiers are written about with obvious love and there were even times when reading that I felt a pang of jealousy and admit to a tinge of regret that I never enlisted.
However as I read on I knew all too well about the black cloud on the horizon that was the Falklands Conflict.
I have to admit that I was very slightly disappointed with the brevity of this chapter when you consider that most readers will be more interested in this part of the authors career than everything that came before. I would have liked to read more stories of the soldiers characters on departure to and during the war but, apart from a scattering of anecdotes the author seems to have ‘glossed over’ this period. I can certainly understand why that may be however and respect his limits of recall or wanting to.
I read with mixed emotions the paragraph the author wrote about my uncle L/Cpl Christopher ‘ Bowser ‘ Thomas 03 – full of pride and sorrow but again wishing to have read more of him, particularly as the author classes him as a friend, although I am grateful to see him mentioned and with obvious affection. It was lovely (if that’s the right word) to see the photo of his grave included too.
The tragic deaths and injuries of so many guardsmen and the nature of them is a harrowing point both during and after the war and the inclusion of the Falklands War Roll of Honour to close the book is both fitting and moving.

Leave a Reply

