The Ruin of Beltany Ring: A Collection of Pagan Poems and TalesThe Ruin of Beltany Ring: A Collection of Pagan Poems and Tales by C.S. MacCath
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was fortunate enough to receive this book, kindly signed by the author, as part of a Goodreads giveaway. 

This kind of subject matter is a big departure from my usual reading. The first story, ‘Ink For The Dead’ – about a tattoo artist, certainly wasn’t what I expected when I considered what Pagan fiction would be like! I didn’t enjoy this particular story so resigned myself to at least enjoying the poetry even if the stories weren’t going to be my thing and ‘Fetters’ and ‘A Path Without Bones’ were indeed wonderful. 

As I read on I actually ended up loving both poetry and prose and was unable to put the book down! 

I’m not particularly knowledgeable when it comes to Paganism but it turned out not to matter in the slightest as both the poetry and prose are beautifully written with rich, colourful language in a style that is for the most part easy to grasp and clearly comes straight from the author’s heart.

I especially enjoyed the tales set in a not-too-distant future – a refreshing alternative to the apocalyptic/dystopian fiction I’ve read previous to this. ‘Yundah’ is a beautiful and soulful short story that I felt was the highlight of the stories.

I will be loaning the book to my Wiccan sister as I believe she’ll get a lot out of this collection…but I’ll be making sure that I get it back to re-read asap!

My mind has been opened to a genre I hadn’t considered previously and I look forward to reading more works by the author – starting with the graphic novel that she very kindly sent along with this book.

Leave a Reply

