Peace on Earth: A shaggy dog storyPeace on Earth: A shaggy dog story by Paddy Bostock
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I didn’t enjoy this book even slightly and it was a real struggle to finish despite it’s shortness.

The plot idea that first attracted my attention, that a formula for Peace on Earth is discovered and promptly misplaced resulting in a search by a private investigator sounded to me like a cross between Pratchett and Malcolm Pryce. I expected far too much.

If I’m honest I’m not even entirely certain that the author was trying to be humorous as I only remember being mildly amused at the thought of a cat trying desperately to convince birds to be his friend and ride around on his back after being affected by the formula. This is the only amusing thing in the entire book which otherwise includes nudity, sexual description, profanity and ridiculous accents written phonetically complete with oh-so-amusing Eastern European mispronunciation.

The characters were completely ridiculous stereotypical caricatures, the finale a damp squib and the writing style strangely annoying – particularly when referring to future outcomes of what was happening now.

Also what the Hell is with giving random things abbreviations for no reason all the time?!

Leave a Reply

