Archmage (Homecoming #1, The Legend of Drizzt #28)Archmage by R.A. Salvatore
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received a free kindle edition of the book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

WOW!

Salvatore is consistently good but this is something else!

The war in the Silver Marches is finally over and Bruenor has convened his fellow dwarf kings to convince them to re-take Gauntlgrym.

Along with the Companions of the Hall, or at least those who choose to remain, and some worthy replacements the dwarf army marches for the ancient Delzoun homeland and it’s Fire Primordial powered forge.

But driving out the hated Drow will not be easy, especially when they summon an army of demons as backup and the evil spider goddess Lolth schemes…

This book absolutely flies by! Salvatore has really increased the pace of the tale and I had an overwhelming urge to read it in one sitting. As usual with Salvatore the battle scenes are written with graphic detail, one scene in particular had my heart in my mouth but I won’t give any spoilers.

Truly one of my favourite of the many Drizzt tales, particularly for its blistering pace and inclusion of some favourite side characters (and when have we ever seen so much of Kimmuriel’s personality?).

I’m dreading the wait for the next chapter – I want it NOW!

5/5

Leave a Reply

