One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

?

We DARE you to not like this book – NetGalley

When I got an email from NetGalley saying that their latest ARC was LOVED by everyone who reads it and they challenged me not to enjoy it I started to dismiss it as marketing nonsense. Then I read further: The Breakfast Club with murder you say?

I had some trepidation over how closely the tale would mirror a film I loved and possibly be too derivative but I needn’t have worried, while the device of teen stereotypes being stuck in detention with a strict teacher is used at the start the story soon continues in its own original form and is not confined to the school halls.

The author chooses to tell the tale with chapters from the point of view of each of the main characters, each time exploring their lives a little deeper and exposing their secrets. I have to say at this point that the author does a great job of giving each character a specific voice and life. It’s done so well in fact that I’m sure that the reader will soon find a favourite character to root for….just as I’m sure that it might not remain the same character by the time they reach the end of the book.

The characters all develop well, individually and together and the author is to be credited for not making the mistake of making the romances and twists too forced or farfetched. I must say the police were bloody useless however and I felt they could have been given a little more intelligence. I also felt that the stereotypes still weren’t completely broken by the revelations, particularly in the case of the Jock.

A well paced, well developed story with convincing and sympathetic characters and sufficient twists in the tale.

4/5

I received a free Kindle edition of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

